Hornets News · 50th Anniversary Celebration

50 years ago the undefeated 1968 Roswell Hornets pulled into the state championship on the road vs Irwin County. Committed to the hard work and sacrifice by the men and women associated with that team, they took the field and defeated the Indians of Irwin County 32- 7.

50yrs later we are here to recognize their efforts on this golden anniversary.

Thank Hornets! We appreciate you and as you already know, you are and always will be ROSWELL HORNETS!

1968 State Championship Team. (Please read the names as they gather off the field.)

Coaches: Charles Horne, Marlin Anderson, Ray Manus, Fred Williams and Novis Fields

Managers: Wayne Garret and Steve Dempsey

Players: Jeff Bower, Preston Davis, Pug Mabry, John Feckoury, Robert Jett, Larry Moon, Randy Pritchard, Dorris Beam, Lee House, Don Roth, Richard Barman, Rick Boedy, Danny Mosteller, Tommy Rice, Brion Gardner, Gary Massey, Ronnie Turner, Sam Mosher, Jim Meek, Phil Cook, Tom Bower, Denny Smith, Byron Smith, Jerry Summerour, Rusty Powell, Rick Strawn, Bill Lowry, Allan Guthrie, Buddy Milam, Sandy Misenhammer, Robbie Dow, Glen McWhorter, Rick Hayden, Jimmy Maultsby, Mike Parkerson, Tommy Collins, Steve Coleman.